Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Damaged gills

ptilosarcus

Reaction score
Hello all,
i recently adopted a white axolotl from a friend of mine, so im very new at trying to care for her. i just came back from a 14 day trip to find that she has gotten kind of sick, and im not sure what to do. i asked my mom to look after her while i was gone and thats when things started to turn sour. the water color turned kind of yellow but most disturbing was that her gills seem to be falling off, about two days before i got home. they've turned grey and floppy at the top and have mostly desintegrated. the bottom half still looks healthy. theres been a recent heat wave in my city and the tank temp jumped to 74 which ive been keeping down with ice bottles. i did a 50% water change as soon as i got home and another 50% today. aside from her worrisome gills she seems ok, shes walking around a bit more than usual and taking gulps of air. she also has some feeder goldfish and white cloud minnows in there as well and two of the gold fish were seen nibbling on her gills so they were removed. she hasnt eaten since tuesday although today i got her to eat one live earthworm, another she spit back out. (i usually feed her dry pellets, worms as a treat.) since i got back on friday she looks stable, but no significant improvement. should i put her in the fridge?? the fridge temp right now is 0 celsius.
thanks for your help!!

Darkmaverick

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Hi there,

1) Check your water parameters - ammonia, nitrites, nitrates.

2) Try lower the temperature of the tank to a stable cool temperature.