Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: My axolotl very sick very worried!

gilbertjelly

Reaction score
Hello
this is my first time on any forum

I'm hoping someone can help me :confused::(
I have 2 axolotls golden albino male and white albino female
My male is very sick at the moment not sure where to start. Combination of things leading up to this mess
Long story short
my male starting refusing food - at this time i was traveling away alot with work so my partner was feeding them for me and i fractured my right arm was in plaster for a few weeks (so was trying to feed them left handed and then wrapped my arm in glad wrap and rubber glove to feed and clean their home.

It's been about 5 nearly 6 weeks since he's eaten. I bought both axolotls at the same time not sure how long they in lfs about 6 or 7 months ago both have been trouble free till last 6weeks
Both have been living on pellets only
i tried a few different things in the last couple weeks - lean streak, chicken, meal worms, blood worms any thing to get my male to eat he lifts his head to look but just wont eat

About 10 days my female (she is feeding normally) had a chomp at him and mangled his right back leg it looked abit nasty for afew days and just started to look abit better last night when to my horror this morning found him belly up. He still alive but is very weak i helped over and my female has had another go at him on right front leg (flesh only from what i can see) and right side gill area. He still can move around
Last week took water sample in to lfs they couldn't find anything wrong with water