Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Anyone have success with Plethodon shermani and Hemidactylium scutatum?

JasonRichardson

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm an undergraduate researcher at the University of South Florida in a lab where I am in charge of P. shermani and Hemidactylium scutatum.

Recently, the H.s. have had an incredibly rapid death rate. I've been successfully keeping reptiles and amphibians in captivity for a good number of years and am quite shocked that this is happening. So far only two of the P.s. have went, so hopefully the rest continue to do well.

My professor and I are at a loss on what could be going on. . .

These particular animals were collected back in March (before I came to the lab) from North Carolina.

They are all kept in deli cups large enough to accommodate all of their needs. In each deli cup a moist sponge is place with them that is cleaned twice a week.

We had thought that our water may have been a problem, so we began using deionized water with kosher salt. This relieved some deaths for about a week and a half, then the H.s. began dying again.

Each salamander is fed an appropriate number of crickets once a week.

The temperature in the room is in the mid 60's, and the humidity mid 70's.

If anybody may be able to figure out what's going on based off this we'd greatly appreciate it. Any info that I may have left out just ask.

Greatwtehunter

Reaction score
Couple quick questions. First, I am curious as to why you add kosher salt to their water. Secondly, are you gut-loading and dusting the crickets with vitamins and calcium before you feed them to the salamanders?

JasonRichardson

Reaction score