Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Illness/Sickness: Help please! Afraid my axie is ill!!

Jenilea

Reaction score
I am brand new to axolotls, Joe is my first, he is pretty small, about 4 inches long and I've had him for a little over a week.

For the first few days of having him, I know he must have been kinda stressed out. I live in Hawaii and do not have air conditioning so I know his water was too warm, around 25 degrees celsius. So for a few days, I was using ice bottles to keep him as cool as possible. However, 3 days ago, I managed to hook up a water cooling system which keeps his water at a pretty consistent 20 degrees celsius.

Now about my problem; a day or two after getting him, I noticed a small white area on the tip of his tail, I thought it was just part of his color pattern and it stayed the same for a few days so I didn't think much of it. But over the last day and a half, it got really bad looking. The whole tip of his tail has flaked and this morning I watched horrified as he frantically chased his own tail around and around trying to bite it.

So I have been looking all over this and other sites to see what it could be and decided that his symptoms seem most like that of a fungal or parasitic infection, probably caused by stress from his few days in too warm water. The most recommended cure is a salt bath so I mixed a little less than a teaspoon of natural non-iodized sea salt with 1/2 litre of cool water and dipped him in it for about 5 minutes. 10 minutes is recommended but because he is young and I know the salt is damaging to his gills, I wanted to play it safe.