Question: Are axolotls happier in pairs?

angyles

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello! total newbie here, first post :D

After years of wanting one, I finally got my first axolotl about 1 month ago (woohoo!) So far Seymore is about 6" long and growing pretty quickly. I'm wondering if I should get another one. I've read that when they're young, their canablistic, but I'm not sure how young that is.

In general, are they happier with more than one, or by themselves? The store I got him from said they're happiest alone, but I notice a lot of people seem to have them in pairs. Which is better?

It doesn't really matter to them. They're perfectly fine by themselves. You should keep in mind that if you do go get another one (which it's hard not to) you'll need to keep it quarantined for a while, and you'll need to have a tank large enough for both of them (if you keep them together).

how large do they both need to be before they can be safely housed together?

Measure the width of the one you have now's head. Anything that size or smaller has potential as a snack. Anything bigger should be safe. It's probably better if the axolotls are of a similar length.