Luck in the mud

pierson_hill

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Pierson Hill
I do a lot of digging around for salamanders in the eastern panhandle of FL and I've had luck finding most of the species with relative consistency. However, one species has been a monkey on my back for almost 5 years now. It started in 2005 when I was an undergad in the NC Piedmont surveying a variety of stream sheds for their salamander communities. Pseudotrition ruber were relatively common at most sites with minimal disturbance and I grew pretty familiar with their larvae. I then began catching Pseudotriton larvae in some of the lower areas approaching floodplain river swamp streams that didn't quite look right. I was almost able to convince myself they were montanus but was never able to substantiate it by finding an adult at those locations, despite many concerted searches (I even turned up a county record Gyrinophilus in the process!). It wasn't until several months after I graduated that others involved in the study began catching adults in funnel traps at the sites where I was finding the suspect larvae....

Skip forward to Fall 2009, past many seasons in north Florida of flipping logs in muddy seeps, digging through mud packs, chasing old records, and dipnetting sloughs with only 2 small larval P. m. floridanus to show for my efforts. This subspecies is very secretive and rarely encountered, especially as adults. As 2009 deepened into fall, I knew my probabilities of seeing this species would spike during their Oct-Nov breeding season. A group of us made a concerted effort in some good looking territory one weekend, but we only came up with a single larvae while netting some leaf packs.

4131816307_e30ac4fd83_o.jpg

Larval P. m. floridanus

4132924915_212eae0d65_o.jpg

There was enough interesting bycatch that not all was lost.

3191416588_1b279114c3_o.jpg

Necturus "lodingi"

4123378998_4cd0fac09b_o.jpg

Eurycea cirrigera

4122607713_50271b726d_o.jpg