Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Fossil use?

shmifty5

Reaction score
I'm currently studying to become a palaeontologist and i love fossils, would i be able to use some of my specimens as decore for my tiger? I have several megalodon teeth, several "shells", several smaller ribs, a large (maybe human sized) femur, and several miscellaneous toes, fingers, vertebrae (all are small).

The collection is of mixed species and i have yet to identify all of the them let alone memorize what belongs to who (working on it tho), the specimens in question mostly come from metal rich environments, i know for a fact that a few of the megalodon teeth will react in water and leech out some salts, iron, etc (not in lethal amounts, but a noticeable amount none-the-less). Will the samples leech minerals and other nasties into my guys substrate or does that only become a concern when they are in a tropical/submerged environment?

Thanks for any help you guys can provide, i currently keep an abnormally stable (won't leech no matter what i try) megalodon tooth in his tank just behind his water dish, it gives the tank a very peculiar look and it always reminds why i love palaeontology and why i have dedicated so much in my pursuit of it.

Greatwtehunter

Reaction score
I don't see how they would create a problem in a terrestrial tank. I say go for it.....and then post pictures!;)

shmifty5

Reaction score
i would love to post pictures, but my camera is still out of the picture until it comes back, lol, picture reference when talking (writting?) about a camera.