Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Aquarium set-up?

dbzmandan

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm new to Axolotls and have quite a few questions about their aquarium set-up.

First off, the filter:
What kind of filter do you use?
Is an under-gravel filter okay? (I cannot afford a cannister filter...)
Are there any other filters that keep the water relatively still?

Secondly, the gravel:
How big does it need to be? (So the axolotl doesn't eat it...)
Can I just paint the bottom of the aquarium? (On the outside of course!)

Thirdly, the decorations:
Can I just use a tube that you use for hamsters? (A long straight one. As a hiding place)
Can I use fake plants?
Anything else that I could use for a hiding place?

And lastly, do I need a bubbler? I thought axolotls preferred still water, so I didn't think that would work.

Thanks!

Blaze

Reaction score
OKies I will try and answer your questions as best as I can!

An under gravel does what it's called, you use it with gravel and since you cannot have gravel with axies your better off with another filter. Cannisters are expensive but very good filters. Internal filters are good but they can heat up your water if you havn't got a chiller or your water is already really cold. If your water is moving to fast with a filter you can get a spray bar, put some sponge over the output or if it has a level turn the output down.