Illness/Sickness: Not eating/ white on body

age2010

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hello i am new to axolotl's brought one from a pet shop about 3 weeks ago he was fine for the first week eating out of my hand but now he has not eaten for the last week and a half seems completely disinterested in food. I got frozen food from the pet shop and have tried feeding him earthworms in case he went off the food with no luck. He also seems to have a bit of a white coat on his body and sheds some kinda of white substance, I did have pebbles on the bottom of the tank but i took them out as Ive been reading he could eat them and get sick, Ive attached some photos you can see the white on him more in the white container then the black one.

Attachments

• axle1.jpg
    axle1.jpg
    57.7 KB · Views: 307
  • axle2.jpg
    axle2.jpg
    65.5 KB · Views: 247
We're going to need some details about your tank to start, so please excuse all the questions...

How big is the tank? Kind of filter? How long has the tank been set up? Temp? pH,nitrite/nitrates, ammonia? dechlorinator? Are his gills always facing forward like that?

Glad you got rid of the pebbles...;)

I think the tank is about 30 liters, i have a Elite Stingray 5 filter.It was set up a day before i got him and the first week he was fine. The temperature is 18 degrees, have not tested the water the pet store said just put dechlorinator in and he will be fine ill try get it tested, i am not sure about the gills facing forward haven't noticed a change since i got him. ill attach a pic of the tank, there is a plastic pipe behind the rock he can hide.

Attachments

• 014.JPG
    014.JPG
    380.3 KB · Views: 228
It almost looks like a fungal infection. You should get your water tested. Has he had anything strange/out of the ordinary to eat?

I haven't noticed him eat anything strange i did have pebbles in the bottom but they are gone now. yeah ill try get the water tested tomorrow. if it is fungus what can i do for him?