The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Axolotl Eggs, Larvae & Breeding Eggs everywhere, how did that happen? Will it be albino or wildtype?

Old 22nd August 2010   #1
chuckieee

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: chuckieee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Breeding Axols, i dont want so many young to take care of, help?

I would like to start breeding axolotls, but since it is my first time, i do not want to care for more than 15 juveniles; and i know they can have up to well over a hundred eggs at a time. is their anything i can do besides simply killing the eggs, i do not want to be inhumane.
i dont mind if other adult axols eat them as that is a natural but i personally dont not want to destroy a fertilized egg.

1.will the parents eat all of the remaining eggs i do not remove from the tank to be raised?
2. any other suggestions i can do so i dont have to raise so many axols?
1:49 AM

If i leave most of the fry in my adult axol tank, will the parents eat ALL or most of them?
if not, do you they would be dangerous to feed my fish?.. i would liek to breed, but dont want to be taking care of more than 40 fry.

chuckieee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2010   #2
Dolores/Alice
(Morrison)
Prolific Member

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 12
Comments: 4
Rep: Morrison has given consistently good advice and informationMorrison has given consistently good advice and informationMorrison has given consistently good advice and information
Default Re: Breeding Axols, i dont want so many young to take care of, help?

If you don't want too many axies to raise simply leave the eggs you don't want in the main tank. The big ones will eat them. Just take out whatever you want.

You can also sell the eggs you don't want to other axolovers.