Filter question and cycling question....

malcorn

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

I am new to the world of axolotls. I don't even have mine yet, still trying to get the tank squared away. I have read so much on tank set-ups, filters, and cycling but I still have qestions. I want to make absolutely sure that my tank is safe before I purchase my axies.

I have a 20 gallon long aquarium. Last Tuesday (the 24th) I filled it with about 15 gallons of tap water and let it sit. Friday (the 27th) I added rinsed Childrens play sand. Saturday (the 28th) I took a water sample in to my local aquarium store to have it tested. My ammonia levels were awful!!! I assumed this was due to my tank cycling and wasn't really sure what to do next. I read that it takes 4-6 weeks so I thought maybe I would just wait it out. I did buy an API water sample kit to have at home. Yesterday (the 31st) I tested my water again, still I hadn't done anything to it. My ph was a little high, ammonia was even higher, the nitrites were okay, and the nitrates were pretty high. So, I did a 50% water change. This time I used the same tap water but added a dechlorinator to it. I will check the levels again in a couple of days.

I also went out and bought a new filter. A Top Fin Power Filter 20. It was only one of two that the store had that had an adjustable flow rate. I will put this in my tank tonight if I get positive feedback from you all on here. Maybe I didn't buy the right filter or there is one better, any advice is appreciated.

In my tank I have two java moss plants and a driftwood piece that I bought at the aquarium store. I also added some rosy minnows last Saturday. There are only four or five out of 12 that have survived my high levels of ammonia.

I am hoping to get things taken care of and I'd really like to make the trip to purchase my axies on Sept. 12th. If my ammonia is still too high then of course I won't but i'm hoping it will hae settled down by then.