Illness/Sickness: Urgent help! Really sick axie!

axigeek

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Beck
Hi, I'm a newbie at all this and I cleaned out my axie's tank last night, washed out all the items in the tank, put her in a large container and then put her back. I left her in her tank over night and now she's blotchy with white specs and on her side floating very near the surface, barely moving! What should I do?

What are the parameters? did you clean out filter pads, and substrate as well? If that's the case your going through a cycle. What did you wash/clean the tank and items with?

Hi. I put her in the fridge for now. Tests show that ammonia is too high and nitrate is too low. Just been reading other posts and looks like she might have a fungus, bacteria or something like it, but the problem is, it's not just on her gills, she's covered in it! I will attempt to give her salt bath asap and get to the shop for medication. Other then that, I don't know what to do. Any suggestions?

any ammonia is bad, but nitrate shouldn't be too low. Do you understand the nitrgen cycle? You shouldn't have ammonia, and nitrate at the same time. What about nitrite? do a large water change on your tank before you put your axolotl back in the tank. Be careful about medication. There are many medications that axolotl's just can't handle, unfortunatly I don't know any good medications. I know a picture will help the more experienced members tell you what kind of fungus it might have. If you are fridging your axolotl make sure to keep enough dechlorinated water in the fridge as well so you can do 100% water changes the next day.

Yes, I understand the cycle, and nitrite was 0. I can't find any other posts about an axi being covered in a sort of green slime, to the point where her eyes won't open, she floats and barely moves. I don't want to give up hope, but I'm starting to think she's beyond saving :cry: :(