Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello, axie unknown death reason...

purplepaj

Reaction score
Hi im new to Axolotls and I've just bought my first one. It was a young female that i bought home. I acclimatised her in her own tank for an hour, like i usually do with my other fish (in a separate tank). When I bought her from the shop, the man who sold me it told me she probably wouldn't be a good idea to feed her for a couple of days. On the third day i started feeding her on what I'd been told to give her. However, on the fourth day she sadly died.

Can anyone help, or possibly have any more axolotls for sale?

Thanks a lot.

Purplepaj

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score
A few questions for you, these may help reach an answer.
How long was the tank set up before you got your axolotl ?
What do you have inside the tank?
What was the temperature of the water?
Finally what did you feed your axolotl?
How big was your axolotl?

purplepaj

Reaction score
I have a large tank of tropical fish set up already, i moved about two thirds of the water from that into her tank, and a third from how i would usually top up a water change. Even then I had it running for two weeks.

In the tank, there is a block of white rock, a few smaller rocks about the size of ping pong balls, a slab of quartz, two real plant types and one fake plant. along the bottom are a tiny handful of sand grains, they are no larger than two millimeters across.

I fed her on: firstly prawns - as i was recommended, then i turned to bloodworm.

The temperature of the water was and is 18 degrees Celsius.

She was four inches from nose to tail.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score