New axolotl owner

coral2reef

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello! I'm new to the axolotl world, and here is my little chap. Been loooking for one since Christmas and finally found one last week.

It's been in my tank and day now and seems happy, haven't decided on a name yet though :confused:

Just hand fed it some cockles and it snapped them up :D

Attachments

• ax 1.jpg
    ax 1.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 271
  • ax2.jpg
    ax2.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 242
Lovely looking axie and welcome to the forum :)

Not sure if you know this but the best diet for your axie is earthworms, bloodworms and pellets I was advised to feed mine cockles, mussles and krill when I got my axies but thanks to this forum knew this was incorrect :)

Good luck with your axie :D

Nice one! Cute axolotl! He looks happy ^_^

Definitely go for worms rather than cockles, they are the most nutritious and nice and wriggly. I get earthworms from my local bait shop.

I was given poor advice when I got axies, too, but this forum did wonders for me!

Welcome to the wonderful world of axolotls :D

hmmmmm I googled it before I collected him and everywhere says different things, it's very confusing! :evil:

In the end I decided to ask the store where I bought him as they have them in regularly and seem to know what they're doing. They recommended cockles as the staple food and the occasional bloodworms (once a week) .... I bought loads to save going back for a while :rolleyes: so hope I wasn't advised too badly. I got 4 x packs of cockles, 1 x bloodworms and 1 x dapnia (I also keep tropical fish so figured they'd eat some of it too?).

I asked if they had any pellets as I thought that would be easier when I'm busy but they didn't have any, I know I can get these online though - what pellets would you recommend?

hmmmmm I googled it before I collected him and everywhere says different things, it's very confusing! :evil: