Illness/Sickness: Axolotl developing mucus like substance

andyng00

Reaction score
Country
China
Display Name
Andy
my axolotl is starting to develop some kind of mucus like substance all over its body :confused: . . . and its even started shedding the substance (the substance's color is white):eek: this might be some kind of sickness or some kind of disease, and if it is i want to cure it as soon as possible . . . which is why i want to ask the opinion of those who are already experienced in caring for an axolotl in captivity . . . because im just new to this :D an answer and opinion is greatly appreciated TNX:happy:

Hi,

welcome to the forum. :D

What are your water parameters (ammoniy, nitrite, nitrate, PH) and the temp?
Can you provide a photo, please. It may be helpful.
What´s his behavior and is he eating well?
Is the white stuff slimy or does it look like cotton wool? Axies have a slimy coat, that should prevent their skin for bacterial infections, but you cannot see it normally.

I cannot really help you, but I would put the axie in the fridge as first aid.

Tina

Does your axolotl bear any similarity in appearance to the axolotl in the second photograph down on this page?

Photos of Sick Axolotls

The axolotl's keeper was able to get the white patches to clear up with a tea bath (1 teabag/ 10L water).

Columnaris infections are also characterized by white patches on the skin. Columnaris causes a bacterial infection that often leads to death if not treated in its early stages. The illness can be treated with the usually prescribed twice-daily salt baths.