Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Axolotl eggs hatched in post! Help!!

axolotl newbie

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to axolotls and posting on here but I need help! My axolotl eggs were due to hatch around this weekend. I have read extensively on the subject of rearing axolotls and have all the live food cultures set up. However, when my eggs arrived on Wednesday they had already hatched and none of my cultures are ready yet! I have some adult daphnia in their tub with them but have not yet seen any baby daphnia small enough for them to eat. My micorworms (which I have cultured for my fish many times) are not crawling up the sides of their tub yet so not possible to harvest them without introducing porridge to the axolotls. My baby brineshrimp haven't hatched in either of my 2 hatcheries as they only arrived yesterday.

I am well aware that axolotl larvae need tiny live food but am wondering if there's anything I can give them as an emergency measure. I have just crushed a bloodworm pellet very finely and sprinkled a tiny amount into their tub. I also have frozen bloodworm but obviously they are too tiny to eat these yet. I read someone's post on here saying they were giving their larvae mashed up frozen bloodworm and egg. Is this a really bad idea?

I also have some Artemia Shelless eggs in suspension which I currently have some of in a hatchery. Could the larvae possibly eat these?

I am taking the day off work to care for them as am really worried they might starve and I am already in love!

stevenwignet

Reaction score