Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Tiger Sal Tank - Revamp Time!

KingCam

Reaction score
I decided the substrate in my tiger salamander tank was staying too wet. I thought I could control the amount of moisture making it into the substrate, that was before I realized tiger salamanders make a point to splash around in their water bowl so much that they empty half of it into the floor of their tank every night :lol:

Anyway, here is the BEFORE shots:

2012-02-15%2019.42.21.jpg

2012-02-15%2019.44.15.jpg

And here is what I put together last night. This is my first attempt at a false bottom. I think I made it a bit too shallow :-\ Oh well, the tigers don't seem to mind :p

2012-02-22%2019.48.05.jpg

^ The tupperware containers are so I don't have to use as much hydroton. I drilled holes in the sides and bottoms of the tupperware containers to allow them to fill with water. The holes are barely visible in this photo.

2012-02-22%2020.09.41.jpg

^ Used hydroton to fill in the gaps, and rocks & gravel to hold stuff in place.

2012-02-22%2020.02.44.jpg

2012-02-22%2020.10.09.jpg

^ Time to make a divider to keep the substrate separate from the water. I chose this lid because of the pre-formed lip it has. I was hoping it would help keep the substrate from spilling into the water side.

2012-02-22%2020.12.31.jpg

^ Lined it with long fiber sphagnum to help prevent substrate from leaking into the water.

2012-02-22%2020.15.58.jpg

2012-02-22%2020.23.15.jpg

2012-02-22%2021.36.04.jpg

2012-02-22%2021.36.19_edit.jpg

Anyway, I know it's not perfect, but I'm pleased with my first attempt at a false bottom tank :)

Hope you enjoyed my post!

Last edited:

Lamb

Reaction score