Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Noob with baby axie - needing a LOT of help please :)

FX1C

Reaction score
Hi
I've been reading this forum for the past couple of days whilst I waited to be able to post & ask for your wise advice.

I'm totally new to axolotl & hadn't planned on becoming a parent quite like this o_O I recently bought a plant for a small beta tank & as the girl at the pet shop was pulling out the plant she was pulling off "jelly balls" when I asked her what they were she said axie eggs & don't worry the fish will eat them! 0.0

Needless to say I'm a big sooky girl & I put the weed into my spare TINY tank with some water & left it be... A few days later most of the balls had disappeared or gone cloudy :( then I noticed a tiny moving "something" when I eventually found it, it was sooo tiny & I've struggled to keep this cutie pie alive since.

I think I've done EVERYTHING wrong so far & I'm grateful that the little guy seems to be tough & resilient enough to survive my love ;) I'm madly in love with this cute new unexpected arrival & want to make sure he/she grows big & strong :)

I started with a gravel base on tank - then aquarium man said I needed to get sand substrate & he sold me a black diamond quartz sand which looks great but now I read it's really bad!!

My current tank is tiny - mainly because I wasn't ready for my new addition - but I am more than inspired seeing other people's tanks.