Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

100 Gallon Paludarium + Alpine Newts

NeptunesRevenge

Reaction score
I recently started a Paludarium build using a 100 gallon tank, 60" x 18" x 20".
My wife and I have always loved the idea of a semi-aquatic tank set up and when we got the chance to build one we were very excited.
I have kept freshwater fish and saltwater fish before but this is my first time dealing with newts.

The tank is kept in a back room that never gets above 72 degrees and the water temps have never risen above that.
I'm using a filter that sits in the back corner and the water lands on a log in order to disperse the force of the water so the current is overpowering for the newts.
Large gravel is used throughout the tank and creates a slope to bring the newts up to the terrestrial area.
Live plants are being used to emulate their natural habitat.
I'm also using a 48" LED light with automatic timer set for 8 hours per day.

The newts are Alpine Newts I recently received through a fellow caudata.org member, Dustinaquilar.
I have 6 of them and they love exploring their new home.
I will be feeding them frozen bloodworms, live bloodworms, and frozen blackworms.

If you have any questions feel free to ask and if there are any suggestions they are very welcome!

1.JPG

2.JPG
3.JPG
4.JPG
5.JPG
6.JPG
7.JPG
8.JPG
9.JPG
10.JPG
11.JPG
12.JPG
13.JPG
14.JPG
15.JPG
16.JPG

xxianxx

Reaction score