Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl Appropriate Set Up?

R

rafael

Hi folks!

I'm new to the axolotl club, but would love to keep some. I have set up a pond (I know this idea in general has not received rave reviews) and I am wondering if it will be safe and non-lethal to keep axolotls in. The pond set up is as follows:

two separate bodies of water one a 20 gallon bucket with a small pour spout over a 125 gallon two tiered pond liner (10 inch shelf with 2 foot deep center). I plan to have water pumped up from the 125 gallon into the bucket such that the water pours out of the bucket into the pond liner. This whole set up is shaded by a deck attached to the upstairs apartment.

My specific concerns are as follows:

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area (average temperature ranges from 50-70 degrees fahrenheit over the whole year). With additional shading measures (such as strategically placed flat stones) will I be able to keep the temperature in check?

If I place the axolotls in the 20 gallon bucket, will they swim over the edge? (I intend to keep the force of the water flow to a minimum by poking lots of holes in the tubing.) There should only be a trickle of water at any time but still do axolotls escape when given the opportunity? Would they climb to escape?

Those are my two biggest concerns. Any other input or feedback would be fantastic.

Thanks in advance,
Rafael

R

rafael

Hey guys. Still Rafael, just posting with my new fancy schmancy account.

G

grant