Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl doesn't seem to be interested in eating

Timage

Reaction score
Hi. I am new to axolotls. I have had my little guy(or girl?) for about 2 weeks. He just doesn't seem interested in eating, and he is getting a little skinny (we have only seen his eat once). I have tried Frozen(thawed) bloodworms, living earthworms(cut into small pieces) and soft pellets(also cut to make sure that they are not too big). His water temp is good (65) and all the water levels are good. The water is a little cloudy but the ph, ammonia, nitrate, nitrite are all in check. He is not floating(or spending time at the surface), his gills are not curled forward, and his tail is not curled. I don't think the water flow is too much as his gills don't move or wiggle around while he is holding still. He has places to hide(though he does not hide much) and no tank mates. I have tried putting the worms in a dish for him and have also tried to put them in front of his nose with tweezers(he will hold still, then swim away). Any other ideas? Other food I should try? Other ways to feed him? I have a worm cone being delivered today to try also. Thanks in advance!

JM29

Reaction score
Daphnias can be a stimulating food for axolotls of all sizes, but I'm afraid they are not compatible with a filter.
They can be found easily in spring (if you live not too far from a pond)

wolfen

Reaction score