Axolotl is no longer pooping

Nikkiwhiskers

Reaction score
Country
United States
UPDATE: Still has not pooped but sometimes he shows interest in worms. Sometimes floats with his tail up. I don't know what to do; I'm borderline panicking right now.

Hi! I got an axolotl a little over a month ago. He was fine when I got him though he was and is a little too skinny. I can't seem to fatten him up.

He has not pooped in about 2, maybe 3 weeks. He still swims around and ate part of a red wiggler the other day (he ate a pellet this morning but is uninterested in food right now; also he was eating decently since I got him).

There is no substrate in his tank, so I don't know how he could be constipated. Is he sick or not eating enough? He hasn't gained any weight either but doesn't act sick. If he is constipated is there a way to fix it without fridging? I have no fridging experience and I'm pretty sure my parents would not let me put him in the refrigerator. Any help would be appreciated, I'm extremely worried about my guy.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, I just joined and have never posted before.

Last edited:
Hi! I got an axolotl a little over a month ago. He was fine when I got him though he was and is a little too skinny. I can't seem to fatten him up.

He has not pooped in about 2, maybe 3 weeks. He still swims around and ate part of a red wiggler the other day (he ate a pellet this morning but is uninterested in food right now; also he was eating decently since I got him).

There is no substrate in his tank, so I don't know how he could be constipated. Is he sick or not eating enough? He hasn't gained any weight either but doesn't act sick. If he is constipated is there a way to fix it without fridging? I have no fridging experience and I'm pretty sure my parents would not let me put him in the refrigerator. Any help would be appreciated, I'm extremely worried about my guy.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, I just joined and have never posted before.