Axolotl water parameters off

Maggie.D

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey!

I’ve had my axolotl Stumpy for two months. Before then, my tank was ‘cycled’ with Aquavitro Seed, except I don’t think that works. I’m new to axi ownership, and didn’t know about the nitrogen cycle. Now, after two months, my tanks water parameters are off. As of a couple hours ago, my ammonia was .5-1, my nitrites zero, and my nitrates about 0-5. My pH is chronically low, so I have some crushed coral (in mesh bags, of course) to help raise it. I’ve been adding Prime to help lower the ammonia, but it hasn’t been working. From what I can tell (via google), it appears as if my tank isn’t cycled. Stumpy seems to be losing filaments on his gills, but he’s eating and moving around properly. He also hasn’t pooped in about five days, and I feed him every other day. What do I do?

No such thing as a cycled tank. You have been given bad info and 90% of people on this site will offer you bad information. Then you will see post with them stating their axoltol are sick or in bad water parameters after giving you advice.

Watch father fish on YouTube. Follow his advice and tweak it a bit to fit salamander care. Then ignore everyone else and enjoy your critters

a cycled tank/filter is a tank/filter that is able to remove the nitrogen compounds produced by the inhabitants of the tank.
any waste in the aquarium whether it be excess food or faecal matter breaks down producing ammonium (nh4), the ammonium breaks down into free-ammonia (nh3) which is broken down by aerobic bacteria (nitrosomonas) into nitrites (no2) which are broken down by aerobic bacteria (nitrobacters) into nitrates (no3) that are removed by water changes, plants or in some cases anaerobic bacteria.
ammonia > nitrites > nitrates.. this is called the nitrogen cycle.
as soon as nitrates are being produced the nitrogen cycle is running, this doesn't mean that it is ready though.