Question: Axolotl will only eat if hand fed

sasamika

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi, Im still relatively new to this and need some advise.

I have 2 axolotls, 1 white and 1 golden. they are both about 4 month old. The golden one is fine and eats well. I feed them pellets, blood worms and earth worms.

The white one is not keen on eating and will only eat if hand fed. it never picks food up from the bottom of the tank and even hand feeding is so tiringly slow most day. I often find myself spending 30mins or more trying to get it to eat a decent amount of food so its not too thin.

during the 6 weeks Ive had them both, the golden one has grown significantly in size and the white one just didnt grow.

Really need some help and advise from more experienced axolotl owners. Do some just not eat as much? will it ever start eating on its own?

Many thanks :happy:

Last edited:
I just wanted to say hi and welcome! I don't have experience with axies, but I'm sure someone who does will chime in soon. Best of luck!

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

I'm dealing with a slow eater now as well. He only eats from my hand but only after pushing the worm against his nose for a few minutes. Sometimes the more vigorous axolotls will just eat more and grow faster and might even bully the rest of the food for themselves. I separated out my slow eater and have gotten him to eat on his own. He's not terribly skinny but not as wide as my other males. Now that he's separated he has been eating worms on his own. I leave live worms in with him and after a few hours remove any he hasn't eaten. He's eaten 2-3 each day now and has gotten a tad quicker. So try separating and see if that works. Even a divider will do.