Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Beginner - LOTS of axolotl questions, all help very much appreciated!

TunaPips

Reaction score
I know this is a lot of info but I just wanted to post everything here and see that I'm doing things right/everything is ok :love:

I brought home my new axolotl (called Tuna) on Monday. I have had 2 adult axolotls before and they were very happy and healthy, but I haven't ever 'raised' a juvenile and I feel like a complete beginner. I have researched for months and months (mostly thanks to this website).

He is about 4/4.5 inches at the moment, and is regrowing his limbs after being kept in a pet shop tank (about 15gl) with ONE HUNDRED other babies/juveniles (I just had to get him out of there!). Other than that, he seems a good size/weight with no scratches or anything. His gills are a little small (is that just due to him being so young? Will they grow?)

His tank:
Cycled for 6 weeks prior to him going in
10 gallons (plan to move him to a bigger one when he is older/larger, just saving up the money right now)
Set up: Pisces natural sand (black), polyresin bonsai tree, large rocks, half log to hide in
Average temperature 18C or 64F - this fluctuates up to 22C (71F) because of the Australian heat, I've been trying to cool it with an aquarium fan which usually lowers it to 20C (68F) (is this ok?)
Filter flow - seems pretty strong (for an axolotl), I am making a spray bar this weekend to help lessen it (is that enough?)
pH 7.5
GH 60 ppm (mg/L)
KH 80 ppm (mg/L)
Nitrate 20 ppm (mg/L)
Nitrite 0 ppm (mg/L)
*The lights are only on for photos*

Feeding: