Bubbles or bumps in stomache?!?

TinyDragons

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone, I am new to Axolotls but already very much a fan. And in that sense deeply worried over every little thing I may be doing wrong.

I got two Axolotls almost month ago, one Leucistic(sp?) with the glowing gene and one normal wild type.

The white one, Merlin, is worrying me because he has what I think may be air bubbles inside him. Looking at his left side, it looks almost like a pea pod with three peas/bumps or bubbles in a row.

At least, I think they are bubbles. He is so see-through I am almost constantly looking at him and wondering what exactly i am looking at, aka organs or etc. I don't think they are organs though....

I put a few sadly blurry pics in the attachments as I was not sure how else to insert and image from my comp.

The wild type has no bumps on his body.

And for more information-they are both on sand, juveniles at 2-1/2 inches and have good appetites. They are eating voraciously everyday, with a diet of earthworms and sometimes blood-worms or pellets for a treat as variety. The water is a steady 62 F and I have a low current sponge filter, as well as an air stone that lets only one or two bubbles out at a time. They are not floating, curling their gills or tail and are not shy or skittish.

But those bumps are freaking me out and I am losing sleep over it. I also do not have a fridge that will go above 4c!

What do you think the bumbps are? What can I do besides fridging? Is it really bad?? I am new to this, please help!

Attachments

• IMG_8564.JPG
    IMG_8564.JPG
    151.3 KB · Views: 1,540
  • IMG_8576.JPG
    IMG_8576.JPG
    149.1 KB · Views: 903
  • IMG_8611.JPG
    IMG_8611.JPG
    164.8 KB · Views: 787
If they are both behaving normally & eating & pooping then that's a big Phew :)