Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Can I use and aquarium as a vivarium?

zoezakella

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
990
Reaction score
21
Location
Aylesbury
Ok am still trying too sort a home out for my frogs and wondered what is the difference between an aquarium and a vivarium apart from the doors and the vents? As it is with my darts I will need to cover the top with glass anyway so can I just use a fish tank? would love to hear your opinions on this :D thanks for your help
 

obrowell

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
80
Reaction score
2
Location
Darlington
Yep! I've always used fish tanks for my darts. Just make sure that there is adequate ventilation.
 

zoezakella

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
990
Reaction score
21
Location
Aylesbury
Cheers for that guys :D

Ok fish tank it is then. In someways I think its better as you dont get obstructed viewiing due to front grill and doors.

Presume its a small ventilation grid I would make due to keeping humidity in? Can I ask what would be an adequate sized vent for a 60 x 40 x 40 top space?

Thanks again for your help!!!
 

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Messages
14,465
Reaction score
105
Location
North Dakota
The main difference between aquariu and vivaria is the thickness of the glass. Aquarium glass is much thicker because it has to hold back the weight of the water.
 

zoezakella

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
990
Reaction score
21
Location
Aylesbury
Not sure yet till I find one but something like clearseal, fluval, jewel etc :happy:
 

Dragonfire

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2014
Messages
136
Reaction score
4
Yep! I've always used fish tanks for my darts. Just make sure that there is adequate ventilation.

Adequate ventilation for darts isn't very much my tanks only have one small vent on the front. Dart frog tanks don't really need much ventilation
 

Dragonfire

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2014
Messages
136
Reaction score
4
Cheers for that guys :D

Ok fish tank it is then. In someways I think its better as you dont get obstructed viewiing due to front grill and doors.

Presume its a small ventilation grid I would make due to keeping humidity in? Can I ask what would be an adequate sized vent for a 60 x 40 x 40 top space?

Thanks again for your help!!!

Like I said in my last post ventilation isn't that big of an issue many places don't even use vents in their tanks at all. I would look for other advice than me because I only keep thumbnail dart frog species though.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    AxoLittle2022: Hi everyone, how does one clear an impaction at home? +1
    Top