Question: Cloudy water, trying to cycle new tank

Keem1871

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm trying to cycle a new aquarium for an axolotl. I'm completely brand new to all of this and really have no idea if I'm doing things right, or completely wrong.
When I woke up today the water was so Cloudy you can't even see through it.. (was clear last night) did my water tests, pH is high - 8.2, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 0 nitrates. Is that even possible?
Yesterday the ammonia test read .50. How does the ammonia go away with no nitrites or nitrates present? Very confused.
If anyone could shed light in what may be happening please do!
the only thing I've used is seachem prime and seachem stability. I'll post a picture of the water.
20220328_191646.jpg
20220328_191133.jpg

add a air-stone the tank, the cloudiness is bacteria bloom but because bacteria require oxygen they remove it from the water allowing denitrifying bacteria to grow which will remove the nitrates. is there a smell to the water?
what levels are you dosing the ammonia at?
bacteria bloom happens sometimes during cycling, it soon clears up once you have bacteria established in the filtration system.

add a air-stone the tank, the cloudiness is bacteria bloom but because bacteria require oxygen they remove it from the water allowing denitrifying bacteria to grow which will remove the nitrates. is there a smell to the water?
what levels are you dosing the ammonia at?
bacteria bloom happens sometimes during cycling, it soon clears up once you have bacteria established in the filtration system.
Yes, the water smells.
I followed the instructions on the ammonia bottle (Dr tims) 4 drops per gallon. It's a 36 gallon tank so I put about 8ml in there. It was consistently at 2ppm until last night when it was at .50. I put only 5ml in last night, and now it's at 0ppm. I am just so confused because nitrites have been at 0 the whole time. (7 days.) How did the ammonia dissappear with no nitrites?

Yes, the water smells.