Question: Cycling Advice?

oatmeal

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hello, everyone! I know this is a topic that has been talked about a lot, but this is my first time cycling a tank and could really use some input.
We set the tank up on October 10th, and added live plants and substrate on the 11th.
My questions is this: I've never seen a nitrite spike, but my nitrates are currently sitting at around 40ppm, and the ammonia does slowly go down over a period of several days. My PH/GH/KH and temperatures have all been within normal range, and we are using frozen dead prawns as an ammonia source.
Looking at my recorded readings, it looks like the nitrates began going up the day after we added nutrifin cycle (I know this is a bit of a controversial product, but I wanted to give it a try). Here's what I have for readings and a bit about our setup:

My tank is 35 gallons, running a tetra whisper filter, and we have an air stone running. The substrate is aquaflora substrate for plants covered in river rocks. The water was boiled and allowed to sit for 24 hrs to dechlorinate prior to setting everything up.

Oct 13/14: Added prawn
Oct 14/14: Ammonia 0.25 NitrItes 0 NitrAtes 0
Oct 15/14: Added Cycle product
Oct 16/14: Ammonia 0.5 NitrItes 0 NitrAtes 20ppm [removed prawn]
Oct 17/14: Ammonia 0.25 NitrItes 0.5 NitrAtes 40
Oct 18/14: Added Prawn back to tank
Oct 19/14: Ammonia 0.5 NitrItes 0 Nitrates 40
Oct 20/14: Ammonia 1.0 NitrItes 0 Nitrates 40
Oct 21/14: Ammonia 1.0 NitrItes 0 Nitrates 40 [removed prawn]
Oct 22/14: Ammonia 1.0 NitrItes 0 Nitrates 40
Oct 23/14: Ammonia 0.5-1.0 NitrItes 0.5 [hard to tell] NitrAtes 40

Should I be allowing my ammonia levels to rise higher than this? It feels wrong to leave a dead prawn in there for too long, and I couldn't find any pure ammonia. Does someone with more experience have any advice on what I could be doing better? I realize this is a long process, I just don't want to delay it further if there's something I'm doing wrong!