Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Do Newts & salamanders Make Good Pets: 5 Points to Consider

findi

Herpetologist & Author
Reaction score
Hi, Frank Indiviglio here. I’m a herpetologist and book author, recently retired from a career spent at several zoos, aquariums, and museums, including over20 [FONT=&quot][/FONT]
Despite my very wide interests (my career with animals has, quite literally, spanned ants to elephants!), I’ve always been partial to newts and salamanders. I focused on them from my earliest days working for the Bronx Zoo, and had the good fortune to author two books on their care and breeding. As pets and zoo specimens, they range from nearly impossible to keep to being among the longest lived of all captive herps (to age 50+, for the Fire and Japanese Giant Salamanders). The following points, drawn from a lifetime of working with these wonderful creatures in zoos, the field, and at home, are useful to consider before embarking on your amphibian-keeping venture. [FONT=&quot]R[/FONT]ead the rest of this article here Do Newts & Salamanders Make Good Pets? Five Points to Consider
Please also check out my posts on Twitter http://bitly.com/JP27Nj and Facebook http://on.fb.me/KckP1m

My Bio, with photos of animals I’ve been lucky enough to work with: That Pet Place Welcomes Frank Indiviglio | That Reptile Blog

Best Regards, Frank

CatSpit

Reaction score
Hi, I just finished reading through your links, what an amazing career you have had, and despite "retirement" you continue to educate others. Your receptiveness and keen interest in people's questions about their pets and also about career choices in the field is inspiring.