Does Lavender look healthy/is this normal behaviour?

faebugz

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Lavender is my wild type who I rescued, her growth was severely stunted. She's grown about half an inch since I got her about 6 weeks ago, and she has successfully learned to walk, swim, and put on weight! This is my first time owning an axolotl so my only issue is I don't have a baseline to compare to for behaviour/mobility techniques (not sure what to call it lol)

She has passed a few large and a few small pieces of gravel from her previous tank since I got her (hard to miss as its bright blue).
It seems like she still has some in her, because of how her belly hangs, but honestly I could just be overfeeding her (she was so skinny when I got her, I've been feeding her 1-3 earthworms a day, fasting every 3-5 days for 24 hours)
There was a huge poop in the tank (like half the size of her head) next to some blue gravel this morning. This was after 3 small earthworms last night following a fast day.
The video was taken just now.
It seems like she's swimming a lot better but she still seems to struggle to reach the top. Normal?
She seems much more buoyant than usual, she looks like she's having fun hanging out up near the top and sinking down slowly. Normal?

It seems like the fast day then worms acted like a laxative to get some gravel out. Should I continue this? Should I be trying harder to get the gravel out, or just keep doing what I'm doing?

She seems much happier now from when I got her- she hid in her log constantly but now she's always out and about, attacking anything that remotely seems to have a pulse

TL;DR is her behaviour normal? Should I continue feeding as I am?

Hi Faebugz,

Gonna lay it to ya straight-

I will assume that you have read all the pages over at Axolotls: The Fascinating Mexican Axolotl and the Tiger Salamander. If not, I highly recommend it.