Floating baby axolotl-Help please

Fluffinmuffins

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am very new to this so please, bare with me here. I just recently acquired a very small leucistic axolotl. Maybe 2 inches long. I transitioned the little one today to an uncycled tank as I really had no choice. Tubbing was not realistic in my household, so I had to do the best I could with an uncycled tank. My local aquarium store had no cycled media to give me to help cycle the tank. Currently using seachem stability and prime. I completed my first water change today prior to transitioning him to the tank, about 75% of the water. The tank had been running for about 3-4 days prior to acquiring this little guy. Water parameters are as follows:

ammonia-.25 trying to control this with the water changes daily
Nitrites-0
Nitrates-5.0
Ph-7.6
Temperature-20 degrees

I currently have him in a small Tupperware container in a dark area. He has not eaten since I got him this morning. No matter how hard he tries, he cannot swim to the bottom of the tank. He continues to rise to the surface. He does swim and move around, but stays at the top. Seems to be slightly lethargic? I’m not sure as I have zero experience with these creatures, only the research I have done prior to getting him so I don’t mess this up. Is he dying? What should I do in this situation with such a tiny axolotl? Please help. Photo provided of him just floating there.

Attachments

• 3C15D992-8ADD-44B6-AAB0-94208E1696F9.jpeg
    3C15D992-8ADD-44B6-AAB0-94208E1696F9.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 217
I remember when I first got my axolotl, I was so panicked and scared he was going to drop dead and I didn't know what to do. It's a scary feeling!