Help please. Axolotl with something on his gill.

SquirrelBait

Reaction score
Country
United States
My juvenile axolotl has some kind of fungus or something on his right fill. From behind it almost looks like a circle but looking from the side it doesn’t. It’s white. My water parameters are all good. I can’t test for ammonia right now, my kit ran out but read zero on Wednesday which was only 2 days ago. I will attach pictures. Don’t know if I need to do salt or almond leaf bath or something? If that is what I need to do can you please tell me how. I’m brand new to all of this. I have no idea how this happened. I remove uneaten food and poop anytime I see it. I do a 20% water change on Wednesdays and 40% on Saturdays. I did recently start feeding blood worms in a food dish and they love them and eat them up but they’re so tiny it’s hard to find every uneaten one. I think I’ve gotten them all but I’m worried I missed one somewhere or something and maybe that caused this..? I just took out and did a rinse on my decor just in case something was hidden but it all looked fine. I have a slightly smaller/younger Axolotl in there too but I looked it over really good and don’t see anything on it. If I need to do salt or almond leaves it will take a couple days for me to get supplies, what can I do in the meantime, if anything? Thank you!

Attachments

• D0F5554B-7E52-42F1-95EE-C3BA70902ED9.jpeg
    D0F5554B-7E52-42F1-95EE-C3BA70902ED9.jpeg
    442.7 KB · Views: 707
  • 9DCE8CA3-8882-4C54-8A3F-4DFE296A8304.jpeg
    9DCE8CA3-8882-4C54-8A3F-4DFE296A8304.jpeg
    380.8 KB · Views: 134