Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Honeymoon in the Smokies

hld

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new on this forum, and I've introduced myself in the appropriate thread! Nice to meet you all :) In short, I'm a grad student that has recently gotten interested in herping as a pastime. I'm currently TAing a herpetology lab at a college in coastal SC.

I'm getting married in May and my soon to be husband and I are going for a honeymoon in the smokies. I've spent a little time (a few short day-trips en route to other places) in the area looking for sals and have come up with a few Desmognathus complex sals and some Eurycea wilderae. This was just this past fall and it was relatively dry under most of the logs we flipped, so we focused on a small stream. We are hoping to see a bit more of the diversity in the park on our Honeymoon in June.

Does anyone else have any other tips or advice for us?

We are currently looking at cabins and thinking of staying near Cherokee, NC just to get out of the hubbub of the Gatlinburg area. Seems like it might be more our speed.

I've got a few of the resources mentioned in other threads on my wishlist. I'm currently using a Peterson's field guide and Salamanders of the Southeast.

We are really looking forward to spending some quiet days together relaxing and basking in the glory of nature!

Thanks in advance :)

Hannah

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score