Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

How many axolotls can I fit in my tank?

Cheesybreeee

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first time using this website and I'm not sure whether this is where you ask questions or not ?

Anywho, I've recently upgraded my tank for my axolotls, and I was hoping that I would maybe be able to get 1-2 more axolotls as well.

The tank size is 215L (57 gallons), 100cm long (3'3) and 50cm wide (1'7). I've seen lots of different opinions on different threads, and was hoping someone could share with me what they think would be a suitable amount of axolotls in this tank. I know some people would only keep one axie in this size, and others a lot more.

My current axolotls are around 20cm and are in a 55cm by 30cm 65L tank, and they seemed fine in that size while they were growing, but now I'm upgrading even though they were perfectly happy in the other tank (they never bumped the glass or swam around fast or moved a whole lot). By relative size, Id be able to fit six axolotls in my tank, but that would be too many in my opinion for sure ??

So, should I get none, one, or two more axolotls to accompany my current 2 axies in their new tank? Thank you ?

WalkingFish

Reaction score