I am a new Northern Map Turtle owner looking for advice and information

Jacki

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone, I introduced myself in the introductions forum.
I am from Michigan and am new to caring for a Northern Map Turtle named Helmet:)

Although I have some experience with caring for a Ball Python which I sold happy and healthy at 41/2 feet long in 1999 when I became pregnant, I am fairly new to caring for aquatic turtles. I have been doing a lot of reading and searching although I would really like to hear from real live people about their experiences and advice.

I am currently keeping Helmet in a 20 gallon tank with a turtle topper. I am using a double deep dome lamp with a powersun uv 100 watt bulb in one side and a red heat lamp on the other side. I have a thermometer in the basking area as well as in the tank. I am using a submergable water heater and try to keep the water around 75 degrees Fahrenheit. I Keep the basking area around 85 degrees sometimes higher depending on water temperature.
I have over the tank water filters for 3 times the size of my tank. I do partial water changes weekly or completely change water if necessary.

I am feeding him in tank as Helmet is kind of skittish. Although I would like to be able to feed Helmet in a separate container I have not had much luck so far.

I am trying to feed him a well balanced diet but I am having a hard time getting him to eat reptomin pellets unless I put dried shrimp in along with them. He loves red worms and knows what the container looks like and begs for them, he will even take the worm while I'm holding it. He also likes wax worms but not as much as red worms. I try to show tough love if he's not eating the reptomin pellets I won't give him worms until he eats reptiomin pellets. I also keep fresh kale in the tank but he seems to play with it more so than eat it. I am going to try romain lettuce next time and also look for dandelion leaves as I have read that they like both.