Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Juvenile diet advice please

Ryang

Reaction score
Hi everyone,I’m a newbie to axolotl ownership. I took delivery of 2 x 2inch Axolotls last week for my daughter for Xmas. The breeder suggested rather than putting them straight in the main tank, to keep them in a smaller tub so I can monitor feeding. I have been giving them frozen bloodworm cubes ( I defrost them in tank water then as to the tub).
They do eat the odd one but I read some posts saying that they should devour the whole cube in 5 mins! They’re pooping quite a lot so I’m sure they are eating I just wanted clarification! Also they are in by far the coldest room in the house and the water is pretty stable at 14°c. If I could warm it a couple of degrees, would that increase metabolism?

Thankyou in advance for any advice
8766572D-CC58-48B6-8F17-16CFE145CC63.jpeg
FBE26D0A-1902-46FB-871C-834518522B20.jpeg
B2D8553D-6800-469C-9FC2-79BEBA896825.jpeg

Dr. Phil

Reaction score