Missing Axolotol

Daxus100

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all Im new to axolotls and i bred my first 2 from eggs myself with the help and advice of the forum,i had one white axolotl the oldest and one wild type with red gills called kimarai,at approx 8cm in size i put them both into a tank together that was in January this year they both got on well and thrived and now are approx 15cm last week i noticed i could not find the white axolotl dragoon i dont have a substrate yet i have them both in a growing on tank so i could easily keep a eye on them with a small hide and some weed they both seemed happy with the white axolotl using the hide while the wild type never used it he also being the youngest was slightly bigger than my white one but not by much ,i checked the whole tank looking for dragoon lifting the hide and found nothing considering the size i thought if they had fought and the white axolotol had died there would be some part of the body left but there is nothing, the tank top was open is it possible dragoon climbed out? i didnt think they would leave the water and had read them changing to salamanders was rare so ruled this out ,they where both doing so well i had witnessed no signs of nibbling or biting and both where fed well often to fat for there own good so the wild one eating the white one with no body parts left seems strange especially as they where almost the same size ,im not sure if i should try and get another or rear another now or leave kimarai on his own he is due a tank upgrade soon as hes now growing so quick he seems to get longer every time i feed him,

Never leave a tank top open. Although axolotls don't climb, they can jump out of the water if they are frightened. How long had your axolotl been missing? Have you checked around the outside of the tank and on the floor?