Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Neotenic Laotriton?

matamander

Reaction score
Have you guys ever had/heard of neotenic Laotriton? Most of my larvae metamorphosed 2-3 months ago and this one is still living its best life aquatically. It’s also getting decently big at 2.5-3 inches (~6-7.5 cm), which is way bigger than the other larvae when they morphed.

C7320A4A-A19C-46CB-B06C-FF0F3520E0E8.jpeg

DartFrog180

Reaction score
I have no experience with this species, but in addition to the well know examples of neoteny/paedomorphosis in Ambystomatid salamanders (e.g., neotenic A. mexicanum, A. andersonii; paedomorphic A. tigrinum and A. talpoideum), some species/populations of Salamandrids (newts) have been shown to be capable of facultative paedomorphosis.

As with Ambystomatids (among which paedomorphosis is much more well studied), there are probably several environmental factors (such as readily available food, low density of conspecific individuals, water quality/chemistry etc) that provide developmental advantages to the larvae.. In turn, these can stimulate larvae to forego metamorphosis longer than normal.

Earlier this year I raised several tanks of emperor newts (Tylototriton shanjing) and 6-7 larvae had longer (~120-125 days) larval periods and were larger at metamorphosis than the rest (most of which metamorphosis in 85-95 days).

Nutshell is, since paedomorphosis is known in the family, it wouldn't be shocking in Laotriton, but since little is known about it, please share observations on these larvae as they develop.