Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

newt novice?

mitchell01

Reaction score
Hi there - I am a complete novice when it comes to breeding newts. Im a teacher and have a large pond at school which we would very much like to have newts in. I have a large tank at home and the ideal would be to buy some native newts to grow until large enough to be put into the pond and then breed for themselves. I am in the process of installing a large pond on my own land and would definately like to introduce them there as well....as a beginner, who do I approach to obtain my potential new friends and whats the plan of attack?

Many thanks,

rigsby

Reaction score
first of all if theres fish in the pond don't bother the newts won't settle. If you want smooth or palmate newts you can simply catch a few and release them in your ponds but i would wait until your pond is mature before attemping this ,they will also need a somewhere to hibernate as they will only use the ponds to breed in. Another way would be to obtain eggs and put these in the ponds but you must be careful when collecting eggs to make sure they are not great crested newt eggs. If you wanted crested newts you can buy the eggs of a licenced breeder ,the only one i know is a man called Charles snell who you can reach at newtsrus@ntlworld.com but you will have to be quick if you want some this year.
pm or e-mail me if you need more info....ian

Aplestris

Reaction score