Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

No fluff on gills

MyLittleComet

Reaction score
Im not sure whats caused my Axie to lose his gills or how to help him.... Could it have been because the nitrates got too high? They were above 80ppm at one point, but I immediately did a water change (about 40%) and added some real plants, (some anubis nana) and since checking after this weeks water change theyre at about 60ppm. Theres no ammonia either. (Nitrites and Ph are in good range as well) Im *certain* my tank was fully cycled before I put him in, so I'm not sure what went wrong or how to make him better :(
(Sorry its my first time posting here im not sure if the pics went in the right order, but one is when I first got him, and the other is how he is now, with such bare gills :'( he seems less vibrant now too...)
20210409_024339.jpg

20210703_210205.jpg

AMurry24537

Reaction score
The high nitrates could definitely have been a factor, but there may be other issues going on. Nitrates need to be kept below 40 ppm, either by using plants or by doing more frequent water changes. To help maintain your axolotl's oxygen levels, drop the temp as much as you can (within the safe range, of course) and perhaps consider adding an air stone on a regulator valve to reduce its intensity

MyLittleComet

Reaction score