Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Northern CA Herping?

crevalle

Muted
Reaction score
Can anyone here recommend a good spot to do some salamander/newt herping in Placer County, CA? I live in the suburbs of Sacramento off of I-80 towards Roseville/Rocklin/Granite Bay. I'm fairly new to CA so would appreciate any guidance.

Thanks!

Sam

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score
The reason we have the locality data policy in place is because while YOU may be just looking to enjoy the local fauna in their natural habitat, many unscrupulous people patrol forums looking for locality data in order to plunder a site of all its inhabitants and sell them online to make money.

We also recommend that if someone asks you for locality data, you think hard about how trustworthy this person is before giving it to them. I have even opted not to take people I know personally to sites because I didn't know them well enough to know their intentions.

FrogEyes

Reaction score
It would be a good idea to check into the field herping forums. You have a much better chance of finding people in the same area who may be going out, know the local critters, and may be willing to go with you as well.

crevalle

Muted
Reaction score
Ok, sounds like a plan. I guess I do see the value of protecting herping spots from people with the wrong intentions. I guess it's like a great fishing spot :)

John

Founder
Staff member
Reaction score
I guess it's like a great fishing spot :)