"okinawa" Gold dust newt tank

Ben Krysa

Reaction score
Country
Canada
tumblr_mynrboYTo81s0h6lso1_1280.jpg

The tank looks fantastic. What is the substrate and what plant species did you use?

That's an great setup! Is that a 55 gallon tank?

Thanks for the feedback,

The substrate is seachem fluorite "dark". It's my first time using it and im a little apprehensive about it. it is a type of fracted clay and looks a little sharp. I have added some fine sand along the front for a feeding area so as to avoid accidental ingestions.

The plants are Hemianthus callitrichoides (cuba) foreground
Hygrophila polysperma "dwarf" forground /middle ground
Pogostemon helferi middleground
Rotala indica background
Bolbitis heudelotii background
and a few random stem cuttings

I really like the drip bar you made for your canister filter.

Awesome! Dark and green goes so well together and this is close to some habitats I¨v seen on pics from the wild.

That's gorgeous. When the plants start growing, you'll have some beautiful color contrasts!

I think you won't need to worry about the fluorite substrate and the newts. the substrate is very heavy... I've had mine in fluorite and also onyx with no trouble.

Looks amazing! Really natural rock and plant layout! How well has that umbrella plant been growing on the islands?

I also am keeping my popei in a 55gal paludarium, with nearly exactly the same water depth!

Attachments

• FTS resized.jpg
    FTS resized.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 1,330
Many thanks!

I grew the umbrella plant from cuttings off of a larger parent plant. Once they had established roots,I tucked the end into natural holes in the lace rock , and filled in the empty spots with substrate. then i tied them down with fishing line to give the roots time to grow onto the rock.
I also tucked in some pillow moss around the bases of the plants. Only time will tell how well they do in the long run.so far they are growing well and putting out lots of new leaves and roots.