Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Pebbles or Sand ?

J

jopet

I am such a dope
biggrin.gif
I just posted this on someone else’s thread (sorry guys I am new to all this)
anyway here is my original post...........
Hey new member here I am currently working on getting a tank and then a couple of axolotls,lol so expect a few dumb questions to pop up from me
happy.gif
anyway my first one is Pebbles or Sand??? I would love to know what you all think and the pro's and cons of them both.
Cheers.

R

rheann

I left a post on the other thread that you should get sand, not pebbles. Pebbles will cause problems. The Axolotls will eat them and it will or may cause problems. Just stick with sand, unless you can find big rocks.

J

jopet

Thanks for the response
happy.gif
I am talking about the really big pebbles like the garden ones, do you still not recommend them ?

C

claire

i have large rocks and pebbles and im changing to sand soon once i get my new tank. this is because i feel that the bacteria needed to turn ammonia and nitrites into the less toxic nitrates, is taken away when i siphon between the rocks. also after a water change, there always seems to be bits flying around the tank from in between the rocks.bacteria will grow in the sand and poo can be removed fromthe surface of the sand :D . so id recommend sand.:D .

justin

Reaction score