Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Really big terrarium

Cecilia

Reaction score
Hello, I am looking at setting up a vivarium for red eyed tree frogs and tiger legged monkey frogs. The tank I have bought is apx 175 gallons and is quite large. I have figured out what I am doing for the water features and the back wall and decorations etc. My only question is what exactly can I do to heat a terrarium this large??I have owned red eyes and various other species for years but have never had to heat a terrarium on this scale. Any suggestions??
Thanks\Cecilia

kay

Reaction score
Wow that's a huge tank, should look wonderful once it is complete. Now I am no expert but I have purchased a 2 bulb exo terra heat hood. It works great. I think the max watt on it is 40 tho, so those bulb fixtures may not get your tank to your optimal temperature. You could possible use a conbination between a hood such a this with a heating pad stuck on the other side of the tank. What temp are you aiming for?

Cecilia

Reaction score
Thank you for the suggestions!!!I am hoping for the gradient to go from about 25-30 that way they can choose where they would like to be.....I like the idea of a hood but at only 40 watts and a tank thats apx a metre high I dont know how efficient that would be???

kay

Reaction score
Well since you could put 2 bulbs in one hood, I'm pretty sure it would produce a substantial amount of heat. Also I was mistaken the max watt is 26, If you get the large hood that can place 4 bulbs, you will for sure have enough heat. You will probably have to find a mesh/ screen top to cover your tank first though because these hoods are usually not the exact size of your tank.