Roundworms in Axolotl?

WaterLily05

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
WaterLily05
Hello, I am new here. I have an axolotl and also keep a tropical community fish tank. I used filter media from my well established 55 gallon tank to start the cycle on my axolotls 20 gallon long tank, but I just found out (through a fish forum I am on) that some of the fish in my 55 gallon tank have roundworms. Could the roundworms (they also said they could be threadworms) have spread to my axolotls tank with the filter media? Can axolotls get roundworms? Are roundworms harmful? I was told to treat roundworms with Flubendazole, or a medication that has Flubendazole as its main active ingredient, so I searched around and came across this -

I am not experienced and am wondering if anyone can tell me if this a good medication to use (I know axolotls can be very sensitive) or help me figure out a different plan of action? Any help and info is greatly appreciated! I did a few google searches on treating or deworming axolotls but had a hard time finding the info I needed.

Can axolotls even get round worms? If it makes any difference to treatment, the tank is fully cycled, half filled 20 gallon long. The axolotl is 3 and a half inches. GH is 7 or 8

Their are some nematodes that are parasitic and some nematodes that feed on waste and excess food. Just because their are nematodes in your axolotl tank doesn't mean they have parasites.

Their are some nematodes that are parasitic and some nematodes that feed on waste and excess food. Just because their are nematodes in your axolotl tank doesn't mean they have parasites.
Thanks for the reply! There were some parasitic worms identified in my fish aquarium where I have tropical fish. I used filter media from that tank with parasitic worms to start the cycle on my axolotls tank. Is it likely that they were spread through the filter media? How would I treat it if they did spread?