Setting up Dart Tanks

tbridgehouse

New member
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lancaster, PA
Country
United States
Display Name
Tyler
Hello all,
I am constructing my vivarium and will be buying my first darts shortly after. Its a 20 high, and I am looking to buy some Azureus. Thoughts on whether I buy 3 or stick with a pair? Anyways my main question is I know when I bought my Axi I had to have the tank running for a bit before adding him. Do I need to have the vivarium set up and ready to go for a little bit before adding the frogs or can they go in pretty much when I add the isopods and what not?
Thanks in advance!
-Tyler
 

Mana

New member
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Preble, New York
Country
United States
In my experience its always been a good idea to set up the vivarium a few months before adding frogs. It'll give your plants time to establish a nice root system. Which will make them more hardy to the frogs jumping on them. Also it'll give you time to work out any technical bugs with the system. On my 1st viv the water pump broke a week after I set up the tank and I had to relocate my frogs to another temporary enclosure while i fixed it, which can stress them out. I also reccomend adding your isopods and springtails at least a week before adding frogs as it'll give them some time to establish a nice colony in the enclosure before the frogs can snack on them. Just my opinion, I'm by no means an expert. Good luck!
 

bhill368

New member
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Oshkosh, WI
Country
United States
I agree. Set it up ahead of time and work out the bugs that may pop up along the way. It may also be worth noting that the species you are looking at getting tend to be a bit more aggressive towards the others. so you may want to keep maybe 1 or a breeding pair in a tall tank like that.
 

salvoz

New member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
31
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Country
United States
You don't need to have it running beforehand assuming there are no fish or other aquatic animals going in there that need a "cycled" water feature, although it is a good idea just so you can troubleshoot any mechanical or other problems (depending on the complexity of your scape) without having to disturb the frogs. I would always go with a 1.1 pair of Azureus if you can find one; sometimes multiple females can be aggressive towards each other and create drama (including eating or harming the other female's eggs) that can interrupt successful breeding. Another option is to get some juvies and when they pair off, sell the spare adults....
 

NinjaNewt

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Country
United States
With Bioactive enclosures it’s always better to have them already setup before you put your animals in. If you set it up and wait a month or so before you put the frogs in that’ll give the isopods and springtails time to reproduce and let the plants develop good root structures and grow out a bit.
 

CaudataCam

New member
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
16
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
California, United States
Country
United States
Display Name
Cameron
From my experience you should probably stick to keeping a 1.1 pair in the viv of that size. 3 is possible but extra care should be taken into account as females are known to eat other females eggs like salvoz stated above.

Depending on if you have a water feature, you would have to wait longer before adding the frogs to the viv to let the water cycle. I usually wait about a month before adding the frogs in to allow the isopod/springtail population form a nice stable population size.

The plants do need some time for them to grow into the tank. Quickly adding frogs to the viv before the plants are able to get acclimated may cause the plants to die. Another note about plants is that many will have a die off period when first added. Don't worry as they will grow back with a lusher more full appearance given all their growing needs are met.

Also sometimes something might go wrong within the waiting period in which you can use to fix before adding the frogs. You can also fine tune anything that might need to be taken care of such as humidity and temperature control.

Good luck and make sure to post some pics!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Lilith:
    Hey guys, one of my axolotls has developed some fungus on one of her gills, I've started salt baths, but do salt baths need to be done in the fridge, some people said I should have her in the fridge permanently during the process, even when not in the salt bath, is this true? As some people said its unnecessary as long as the tank is below 20°c which it is. Also do I need to get them both out the tank and clean it out?
    +1
    Unlike
  • Nagato:
    Does anybody know where I can find Triturus karelinii?
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    RobynB27 has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    RobynB27 has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    RobynB27 has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Lilith:
    Does anyone know if aquacare general tonic is ok for axolotls as a treatment for bacterial or fungal infection?
    +1
    Unlike
  • faebugz:
    Hi Lilith, you can check the medications page for a list of axolotl safe treatments. Although if the infection is mild, I would stick with fridge and salt baths!
    +1
    Unlike
  • faebugz:
    I believe the fridge gets to about 54°, so if you can replicate that in the tank, it might be okay. I personally would fridge just to make catching them easier, and if the infection is something in the water column at all, it will hopefully die out while they're AWOL (I'm thinking like ich for fish, not sure if axies have an equivalent)
    +1
    Unlike
  • Lilith:
    Ok, thank you!
    +1
    Unlike
  • chitoos:
    My three inch axolotl was having trouble pooping up to a few days ago. I wasn't feeding her as often because I was scared I would just add to her constipation. I fridged her until she pooped (twice), and then began to feed her around 6 bloodworms every other day. she's been pooping everyday now, but she's at that age where you can see through her stomach and I always see poop ready to come out but has not yet passed. I don't think she's constipated anymore, but I'm not sure and i don't want to over or underfeed her... any advice?
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    Feed it chopped worms chitoos, its big enough and bloodworm is nutritionaly deficient.
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    Freeze dried , live or frozen bloodworm.
    +1
    Unlike
  • chitoos:
    Oh ok thanks! I thought she might be ready for something more. do you have any advice about the apparent poop problem?
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    @Lilith, fridging is not required for fungus treatment. Read my thread on treatment.
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    Feed it more, six bloodworm isnt much, dont use freeze dried foods
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    Feed daily , remove uneaten food
    +1
    Unlike
  • chitoos:
    Gotcha, Thank you!
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    Its probably not pooping because its hardly beign fed, it pooped in the fridge because the lower temp caused it to purge itself. If it stays constipated you can pm me
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Audrey22:
    Hi guys. Quick question. I have newly morphed eastern newt efts. They lost their gills but they still prefer the water. I have coconut fiber, moss, hidey holes and some food in the temporary habitat for them (waiting for the other newts to morph as well). But they still run back to the water. Is it the wrong substrate? Do they prefer something other than coconut fiber? I've been doing everything else properly (According to my research) but just wondering why they haven't ventured up. Have any ideas?
    +1
    Unlike
    Audrey22: Hi guys. Quick question. I have newly morphed eastern newt efts. They lost their gills but they... +1
    Top