Setting up Dart Tanks

tbridgehouse

New member
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Lancaster, PA
Country
United States
Display Name
Tyler
Hello all,
I am constructing my vivarium and will be buying my first darts shortly after. Its a 20 high, and I am looking to buy some Azureus. Thoughts on whether I buy 3 or stick with a pair? Anyways my main question is I know when I bought my Axi I had to have the tank running for a bit before adding him. Do I need to have the vivarium set up and ready to go for a little bit before adding the frogs or can they go in pretty much when I add the isopods and what not?
Thanks in advance!
-Tyler
 

Mana

New member
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Preble, New York
Country
United States
In my experience its always been a good idea to set up the vivarium a few months before adding frogs. It'll give your plants time to establish a nice root system. Which will make them more hardy to the frogs jumping on them. Also it'll give you time to work out any technical bugs with the system. On my 1st viv the water pump broke a week after I set up the tank and I had to relocate my frogs to another temporary enclosure while i fixed it, which can stress them out. I also reccomend adding your isopods and springtails at least a week before adding frogs as it'll give them some time to establish a nice colony in the enclosure before the frogs can snack on them. Just my opinion, I'm by no means an expert. Good luck!
 

bhill368

New member
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Oshkosh, WI
Country
United States
I agree. Set it up ahead of time and work out the bugs that may pop up along the way. It may also be worth noting that the species you are looking at getting tend to be a bit more aggressive towards the others. so you may want to keep maybe 1 or a breeding pair in a tall tank like that.
 

salvoz

New member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
31
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Country
United States
You don't need to have it running beforehand assuming there are no fish or other aquatic animals going in there that need a "cycled" water feature, although it is a good idea just so you can troubleshoot any mechanical or other problems (depending on the complexity of your scape) without having to disturb the frogs. I would always go with a 1.1 pair of Azureus if you can find one; sometimes multiple females can be aggressive towards each other and create drama (including eating or harming the other female's eggs) that can interrupt successful breeding. Another option is to get some juvies and when they pair off, sell the spare adults....
 

NinjaNewt

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2018
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Country
United States
With Bioactive enclosures it’s always better to have them already setup before you put your animals in. If you set it up and wait a month or so before you put the frogs in that’ll give the isopods and springtails time to reproduce and let the plants develop good root structures and grow out a bit.
 

CaudataCam

New member
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
16
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Location
California, United States
Country
United States
Display Name
Cameron
From my experience you should probably stick to keeping a 1.1 pair in the viv of that size. 3 is possible but extra care should be taken into account as females are known to eat other females eggs like salvoz stated above.

Depending on if you have a water feature, you would have to wait longer before adding the frogs to the viv to let the water cycle. I usually wait about a month before adding the frogs in to allow the isopod/springtail population form a nice stable population size.

The plants do need some time for them to grow into the tank. Quickly adding frogs to the viv before the plants are able to get acclimated may cause the plants to die. Another note about plants is that many will have a die off period when first added. Don't worry as they will grow back with a lusher more full appearance given all their growing needs are met.

Also sometimes something might go wrong within the waiting period in which you can use to fix before adding the frogs. You can also fine tune anything that might need to be taken care of such as humidity and temperature control.

Good luck and make sure to post some pics!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • differencess:
    Daphnia water fleas, mosquito larvae and any larve will do
    +1
    Unlike
  • Lilith:
    Ok Thank You. ^-^
    +1
    Unlike
  • Austin Wayneg:
    I just got a tiger salamander and it's not eating
    +1
    Unlike
  • ArpTheAxolotl:
    Congrats. D6
    +1
    Unlike
  • SubZero:
    What are you feeding it
    +2
    Unlike
  • Austin Wayneg:
    Red worms
    +1
    Unlike
  • Audrey22:
    Try various foods to mimic a natural diet. If your worms are dead, try living things for sure. My newts prefer live food almost exclusively. My eastern newts eat snails, black worms, baby brine and others. They are like picky children. Maybe blood worms are their broccoli lol
    +1
    Unlike
  • rads:
    Hey there guys! My tank is cycled but I'm still battling ammonia spikes just when I get it down to zero. I keep the tank clean and do water changes when needed to lower it. Ammonia is about .25-.5 right now, 0 nitrite, 20 nitrate ppm. Not sure why two months in now it's still fluctuating?
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    @axolotl nerd, rads, the cycle has crashed or the tank wasnt fully cycled to start with. Remove the animals to a seperate tank or tub, give 100% daily water changes. It can take a while to cycle a tank if its yr first time.
    +2
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Toothpickthelotl:
    Hey guys! We had our first unexpected hot day and I was an idiot and forgot to put on the fan for my axolotl tank. When I came to feed her at around 7, I noticed the tank was 75 degrees!! It has never been this warm, it’s always a stable 67ish without a fan. It was only this warm for today (yesterday it was normal temps), and I immeditately got the fan on when I saw. It is down to 69 degrees now. Is my axie going to be ok with the increase in temperature for a day?
    +1
    Unlike
  • Toothpickthelotl:
    Oh that’s in Fahrenheit by the way, I think in Celsius it almost got up to 24 c if I’m not mistaken
    +1
    Unlike
  • Toothpickthelotl:
    Axie is showing no signs of stress whatsoever
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • xxianxx:
    A short temp spike is unlikely to cause any long term probs
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has joined the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    xxianxx has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • gemdimps:
    Hi 👋🏻 I am desperately seeking cycling advice
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    NewtPoot has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
  • Chat Bot:
    RCWaterPets has left the room.
    +1
    Unlike
    Chat Bot: RCWaterPets has left the room. +1
    Top