Sick axolotl - advice please

P

phil

right, i took my friends axolotl off him, because he never changed their water, hardly fed them and kept them in a fairly dark room. I have read up and put them in what I am told is the best environment for them. I have started feeding them, on a varied diet, but I have a problem with the male. Firstly, one side of his gills have been eaten away (maybe by the female), it looks like he is eating his own leg as well? He is not feeding very often. Also, he keeps floating to the top of the tank, and taking gulps of air, this seems to affect his bouyancy, he has his front feet on the ground but the rest of him floats almost upright. I'm new to this, and I don't want to distress my new pets - can you let me know you you guys think? Please e-mail me, I want to look after these little suckers. Cheers. Phil

clean water, dark room. they don't really eat all that often. I feed mine 1 3-inch(ish) worm twice a week. They will gulp air if the water is not well aerated (or even if it is, as mine gulp air too.) its a normal thing.

go to www.caudata.org/axolotl and read everything. Then if you have more questions, post here! good luck!

Don't worry too much about the floating vetically thing. They tend to do odd things from time to time. I've often seen them 'running' along the tank spinning their backlegs cartoon fashion...but you have to snaeak downstairs at night to catch'em...lol. It's an axie conspiracy thing.

floating at the top of the tank (horizontal) is typically down to bad diet a couple of days previously e.g too much beef or lambs heart.

i dunno mik, juju likes hanging out at the surface for no apparent reason...