Slime coat shedding and possibly fill fungus

Jaeger

Reaction score
Country
Australia
DAD3A19D-51D6-476A-A33E-69AD019B5B1B.jpeg
my axolotls slime coat is shedding and his gills look unhealthy, possible fungus? what can i do to stop ive had him tubbed before still didn’t help. please help

ph: 7.8
ammonia: 0.25
nitrite: 0
nitrate: 0

AkemiYousei

Reaction score
Country
United States
Tea baths are suppose to help with fungus and bacterial illnesses. As far as any stronger medication, there would need to be a definitive diagnosis, which I am not good at, so I'll let others weigh in with further suggestions.

AxolotlMama

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Mama to 9 axies
Cycling a tank with anything in it that is alive will die due to it not being cycled. Stick with tubing until your tank is ready.

Last edited:

AkemiYousei

Reaction score
Country
United States
Didn't see the ammonia. He won't be able to heal well or at all until that ammonia (and then the nitrites) are processed. So yes, definitely have the tank cycled before taking him out of tubing as AxolotlMama and faebugz pointed out.

Jaeger

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Why is ammonia .25? The tank is not cycled. Add seachem prime and look up in-tank cycling
The tank is cycled. And it has been cycled for 3 months before i added him. It recently started spiking, and in my experience 25 ammonia isnt that concerning, when its closer to 1 then its extrmeely concerning. And yes i double dose on prime.

AxolotlMama

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Mama to 9 axies