Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

So, I got a new Axolotl...

Asholotl

Reaction score
So I'm a complete beginner and got a new axolotl. The Pet shop that sold him to me told me to feed him two small things of bloodworms everyday saying they were juvenile but i never got the age of the axolotl.
They told me not to feed them earthworms even if i cut them up.

I cut up the earthworms anyways and fed him a little bit of bloodworms, which it pretty much scattered all over the bottom of the tank were i cant clean it easily...so in frustration i took the chopped up worm, only a quarter of it. so about a small mouthful for the dude and let him eat that, since the blood worms were so little and he didn't get much to eat...

I don't know if he got into a fight with the other tank mates, since his legs are small and his gills were not super fluffy, I just got him today, and I dont know the age of him or how much im supposed to feed him.
I know older ones eat one big meal every 2 to 3 days.
I could use some help figuring out what to do with him feeding wise. He is super beautiful to me and I don't want him to get sick.
I just want to be the best axolotl parent i can be.

That and i need to name him at some point too... So any advice would be nice. As much as i studied up on them, i dont know as much as i should or i panic to much and doubt myself.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 420
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 101

axolotl nerd

Reaction score
So I'm a complete beginner and got a new axolotl. The Pet shop that sold him to me told me to feed him two small things of bloodworms everyday saying they were juvenile but i never got the age of the axolotl.